2014-04-06 19.21.30

_31 Wild Skids On The Bastille At Sunset

06/04/14

Route map here

Last night I was out at a party until about 5am, despite that I spent an absolutely fantastic Sunday with a certain someone(despite the slight hangover) having a mega lie in, lounging around, playing in my garden (which is huge and consists of a forest, waterfalls, a treehouse, some old buildings, a vinyard, a pond a swimming pool and all sorts of other things…) and at the end of the day I ended up going for an hour or two on the bike.

Had not been up La Bastille for a while so went up there, I decided I would ride up as far as I could before the sun went down and it got too dark to ride! And lets see if I can finally steal this KOM from someone on La Vierge Noir descent.

Looking on the river from the bridge that I shall name from now on as 'Wheelie Bridge' because you can't help but do wheelies all along it

Looking on the river from the bridge that I shall name from now on as ‘Wheelie Bridge’ because you can’t help but do wheelies all along it

Which line to take?! (the right one is way cooler, big natural tight berms

Which line to take?! (the right one is way cooler, big natural tight berms

Now that I have my new 32t chainring I can actually ride up this stuff (OK it doesn't look steep... but it is)

Now that I have my new 32t chainring I can actually ride up this stuff (OK it doesn’t look steep… but it is)

The first time I had gone up this climb since I got my new chainring for my birthday, I realised I was using a 36t beast whilst trying to climb all these steep offroad sections in the alps! I am not down to a 32t which makes life easier and am now actually able to climb a lot more stuff!

To the right

To the right

To the left

To the left

The trail is pretty worn in up here since there are so many people that come walking up here as its straight out of the centre of the city almost! Since I came quite late at night there was no one up here with me though so got a good run down. Starting to know this track quite well however had not done this top part for a while and got VERY wild on a few sections, adrenaline pumping stuff had me shouting and screaming in fear/excitement, riding on the edge and almost hitting a tree at one point and a big boulder at another point. I managed to keep everything in shape… just! and made it down in a hurry with a massive smile on my face. Great end fantastic day!!!

And down!

I didn’t steal that KOM however… next time!

Leave a Reply

